Moms got your back.

Lil bear was exceptionally rude to me today.  How does one go to bed at night with kisses from his mom and snuggles and wake up and hate her??
Everything I said and did this morning was met with disdain.  And finally when I took him to school, when we were trapped in a car together, he really let me have it.
“You are ALWAYS running late, I’m tired of it.  I would just like to get to school early sometimes!!  If you could just get up!  Geesh, mom, it isn’t that hard.  You need to be up by 6:30 so you can get my lunch made before you drive to school!!”
I just stare at him.  The monster I have created…  I am not going to argue with him.  I am not ruining both our days by spewing the hate and anger back on to him.  I just want to know why?  Why don’t you see all that I do, I do for you.  Why don’t you see that I voluntarily do this because I love you?  And that love is so special.  And if you knew how much I loved you and did for you..You would never raise your voice to me.  You would not speak so harshly about me.
He got out of the car and slammed the door.  No goodbye, no thank you and definitely not any love…
I thought about my mom all the way home.  I was not an angel to my mom and I won’t pretend that I was.  But I tell my kids now that I put no person above my parents.  They did an awful lot for me.  And I rarely acknowledged it then so I will acknowledge it twice as much now.  If that phone rings and it is my parents, I am taking that call.  And we will talk as long as they want until they say they have to go.  When my mom calls me up and says she needs xyz….I got you mom.   And I would NEVER raise my voice to my parents now.  I may not have honored that when I was lil bear’s age though.
I get home and there is an email from LB..  “I forgot my IPAD.  Please bring it to me. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE”
And now you call in a favor?  Oh honey, the things I would like to tell you.  You don’t have any favors banked!!  Now you want to be super nice so I will help you?!?!
I don’t remember my mom ever bringing me anything up to school when I was younger.  Maybe that is because I was an exceptional child who never forgot anything.  Or maybe it is because I don’t remember all she did for me.   I am going to say it is the first reason..
But I do remember when I was in high school; my mom and I had a lot of issues.  I was all grown and didn’t need anything from nobody..Except some food in the fridge..and maybe heat..and a place to sleep, and a phone..LOL   But I took all that for granted, sound familiar?
I remember one day in science class, maybe junior year, we were going over our homework.  A girl that I had been friends with in middle school, but we didn’t hang out in the same crowds anymore, came over by me and asked if I had my assignment done.  I said yes and she asked if she could copy it.  It was real simple multiple choice stuff so she started quickly writing down the A,B,C’s down the paper.  We both looked up and saw the teacher walking towards us.  We were caught.
He told us both to go to the front of the class, where he began publically scolding us for what we had done.  And then he said something to her that still stings to this day..
“I would expect this from Sara…But I wouldn’t expect this from you.  You are a cheerleader and know better.  Why would you share your homework that you worked so hard to do with someone who obviously doesn’t care or know enough to do it on their own??”
I had done the homework!!! It was mine!!  You could clearly tell I was the one holding the finished product while hers was only half done!!  And he had just announced that to the entire class??  What do you mean you expect that from me??  I had never ever been caught cheating before this moment or after it for that matter!!  The only time I had been in trouble before this moment in high school was for reading a Cosmo in Algebra.  (I got a detention.  Really?  I was learning about stuff I would actually use one day!!)
I went home and told my mom what had happened.  And she marched right up to the school and let them have it.  My momma had my back.  I was probably not nice to her that day and maybe the day after.  I hadn’t realized yet that I should be nice to her.. I knew she had me.
I grabbed LB’s iPAD and headed to his school and dropped it off in the office.  He won’t thank me today or tomorrow.  But one day he will.
As I was walking out of the school another mother saw me and asked if I too was dropping off something left at home this morning.  I smiled and said yes I was.  She said “I thought about not bringing it up here to teach her a lesson..But then I had mom guilt and next thing I knew I was in the car.  Cuz that’s what moms do.  They got your back, right?”
Yes they do.  If only we were nicer to them every once and awhile.

 

**If you like my stories, feel free to share them with your friends and family and others that might enjoy them too.  Please feel free to use the share button below!

Leave a Reply

